Chchchchchanges…

I can’t believe it’s been so long since my last post. Trying to do this blog along with all of life’s other facets can get difficult sometimes. A million other things come up, busy-ness overtakes creativity, etc. etc. The worst is when I have time to post, but am just to psychologically drained.

Recently my work had been doing this to me. When I was there, I did next to nothing, (not that there’s anything to do) when I got home I felt like I had a labotomy. I was worried my employer was bleeding me of work so I could be fired. I was right. My department was a bit of an experiment within the greater company and due to some of the worst mismanagement I have ever seen, it failed. So they fired us all.

This fact has been bearing down on me recently. Now I am out of work and I need to find a job again, so every bit of free time I have is either me doing work to that end, or procrastinating. This has all but killed my drive to make music. I have been trying to figure out how to make space for creativity in this new landscape, but it has been difficult.

However, while i haven’t been experimenting much lately, I have been playing my makeshift phin a lot and really enjoying that. Right now it is in a tuning very similar to the tuning that was used in the sublime frequencies video that inspired it’s creation. I have been bowing it some, but also playing it with a pick. I have continued to grow in my appreciation of it on a whole. I love how simple it is, and the resonance of the tin, especially when bowing, is really nice.

Here’s a clip of a little melody I have been fooling around with:

- Phin Picking

And here’s is some random feedback noise from the tape I recorded this on. I have no idea where this come from, but it sounds really cool.

- Feedback Noise

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Chchchchchanges…”

  1. ig Says:

    Hey man, sorry to hear about your job. I’ll keep you in my thoughts and hope that something comes up and that things go well for you. During my most difficult times, I’ve always used music to help me find focus, give me a sense of achievement, and to meditate on what’s going on. Don’t try too hard as far as experimentation goes, just play whatever comes out and let your mind wander whichever way it wants to go. Do it as a break from job searching, you deserve it.

    Good luck, keep the faith and keep posting as you can!

    IG

  2. howsthatsound Says:

    I will be back to full steam soon, I just need to adjust to the changes taking place. Thanks for the words of encouragement Ignacio!

  3. graemefisher Says:

    these music clips dont work!

  4. howsthatsound Says:

    thanks for the tip! links fixed.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

