Season’s Holidays! Happy Greetings! A Gift for you and yours!

Holiday madness being what it is (work’s no party either) I figured I probably wouldn’t have the time to do a post pre-christmas. However, as I was thinking about it, I realized I do have something to share. Though I haven’t been posting them, Al and I have continued to record, almost weekly improvisations. I would post them all, I just like to, if I can, present them in a more “finished” state than I usually have time for. I thought I’d make an exception though, 1, because I haven’t posted anything form us in a while and 2, because I fear christmas delaying my posting even more than usual. So here we go…

This was recorded this past friday at Al’s house which has become the new recording place of choice for a number of reasons. The session is about 72 minutes long with a decent variety of sounds being made. Here’s a (probably incomplete) rundown of what is being played: four-track loops, realistic dx-440 radio, modified singing christmas ball, tape feedback circuit, brass bowl, wooden box, tongue drum, pig scraper, bells, chimes, cymbals, 4 oscillator noise box, wooden xylophone, saw-blade, vibes, organ, bell piano, harmonica, rams horn, kalimba, surfaces, various apartment furnishings, etc. The session has been loosely subdivided into six parts, though each part may encompass more than one discernible movement. Hope you guys enjoy this, it was a lot of fun to make.

latralmagog, session XVIII:

- part 1 

- part 2

- part 3

- part 4

- part 5

- part 6 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 Responses to “Season’s Holidays! Happy Greetings! A Gift for you and yours!”

  1. startlingmoniker Says:

    Downloading them all now… don’t miss the 5 older shows I posted as my gift for you! Nothing says “Xmas” like 13-ish hours of oddmusic!

  2. Jake Says:

    I’ve been wanting to start up a blog like yours for a little while, but I’ve been lazy. However, sometime last week I stumbled onto this site; you’ve give me the inspiration to actually pull the trigger. I just finished my first post => http://surrent.blogspot.com

    I’m listening to the 1st portion of your latest post right now! Awesomeness.

  3. howsthatsound Says:

    DaveX, you top me again! I post an hour and 15, you post 13 hours! hahaha

  4. howsthatsound Says:

    Jake, I’m really delighted that I’ve been able to inspire you to assemble a blog of your own. That’s really cool! Your blog is already very interesting, with lots of great sounds. Keep it up, from personal experience, using a medium like this as a platform for creativity is very rewarding. I’m adding you to my blogroll. be well!

  5. startlingmoniker Says:

    You get extra credit for actually creating yours from scratch, though!

  6. kingo sleemer Says:

    Hey-low and indrivances. I confess: I haven’t listened to all of this stuff you’ve posted. In fact, what I did, in case you didn’t ask to hear about it, is this: I listened to the first part; while doing that, and enjoying it, I found in your blog a link to your myspace page, and I went there. Unbeknowningst to me (although I should’ve known, as this is what happens on myspaces,) the first song there started to play. If I’m not mistaken, that first song was was the same song I was already listening to in my mp3 player program. I didn’t notice, then, that I was listening to your song, and on top of it the same song but about 4 minutes behind the first instance. At some point the version in my mp3 program ended and restarted, as I always have it set to loop.

    Already long story less long: I listened to that first track for about 30 minutes before realizing I was listening to a conglomeration of things.

    And I loved it.

    We (Halaka) do things in a very similar way to the way you do things, with (from what I can tell) usually very different results. However it wraps, I like what you’re doing and the way you post about it here.

  7. howsthatsound Says:

    hahaha! that’s great! i love it when stuff like that happens. and i’m glad you enjoyed it. i will check out your band as well. glad you dig the blog. it’s a lot of fun to do, and a great way to get your music and ideas out into the world. be well.

  8. al Says:

    I am listening to this now, and it seems a soundtrack for concussed aliens, trying to hide in some dirty back alley, away from the frequencies…..

    craft return, diagram their weaknesses…… ohhhh, the piercing rowwwwl.

  9. howsthatsound Says:

    :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

