While my ipod gently weeps

I’m travelling and don’t have time for a full post, but I recorded this a couple days ago and wanted to get it up. I rather enjoy it. I hope you do too. More on when I get back.

– Untitled

Edit:

So in case you hadn’t guessed by the mp3 filename, this track was assembled in real-time, or as I implied, improvised by my ipod. I selected three sound files to use as material and chopped them up into individual sound events.  I also gave a similar treatment to about four minutes of absolute silence. I took the sounds and the silence and made a playlist on my ipod containing all of those fragments. I then set my ipod to play the playlist at random, and began recording. I did this twice, hence the stereo version above.

The sound sources were:
– The ambience and chatter preceding a musical performance I recently recorded.
– The sounds of my dogs wrestling, which i fed through noise removal software
– the sounds of an overtone sax thing i made 

I’m pretty impressed by the results, and I think I may be working in this way more in the future. I’m always intrigued when I hear sound events happening without the burden of the human perception of time. There can never be any real “groove” or “vibe” or “flow” to random sound, so you never get into a scenario of sound events being predictable, and i like this element of surprise.

I’m going to do another one of these soon, but with four tracks, each one a different instrument. I’m looking forward to hearing the outcome of that.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “While my ipod gently weeps”

  1. Christopher DeLaurenti Says:

    Nice!
    The link should be:
    [audio src="http://www.et-ia.com/dropbox/ipodimprov.mp3" /]

  2. howsthatsound Says:

    Thanks man. Link fixed.

  3. scottmcleodjr Says:

    hey…i just wanted to say that you’ve given me a lot of inspiration, and a lot of ideas that are going to be worked into a new space rock project i am doing over the next few years. Thanks.

  4. howsthatsound Says:

    thanks a lot scott, glad you enjoy the blog. good luck with your project!

Leave a comment